

ROCKY MOUNTAIN AREA COORDINATION CENTER

Bureau of Indian Affairs (Southwest, Rocky Mountain and Great Plains Regions)
Bureau of Land Management (Colorado and Wyoming)
Fish and Wildlife Service (Mountain/Prairie Region)
Forest Service (Rocky Mountain Region)
National Park Service (Intermountain and Midwest Regions)
State Agencies in Colorado, Wyoming, South Dakota, Nebraska and Kansas

NEWS RELEASE

For additional information, please contact RMACC Public Information Officer (303) 445-4322 rmaccinformation@gmail.com

June 29, 2017

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

PREPAREDNESS LEVEL RAISED IN ROCKY MOUNTAIN AREA

Lakewood, Colo. – In response to a growing wildfire threat, the preparedness level (PL) in the Rocky Mountain Area was elevated from PL 1 to PL 2.

The Rocky Mountain Area consists of Colorado, Kansas, Nebraska, South Dakota and Wyoming.

This change in preparedness level was primarily based on current fire activity in the area and other parts of the country as well as the increased risk for large fires across parts of the Rocky Mountain area, primarily in western Colorado and Wyoming.

The five preparedness levels range from I to 5, with 5 being the highest level. Each preparedness level has specific management directions. As preparedness levels rise, more federal, local and state employees become available for fire mobilization if needed.

The Rocky Mountain Area Coordinating Group establishes preparedness levels throughout the calendar year to help assure that firefighting resources are ready to respond to new incidents. Preparedness levels are dictated by burning conditions, fire activity and availability of resources.

Although 97 percent of new fires are put out quickly, some fires can grow large and impact communities and critical watersheds. Extreme care should be taken by the public when engaging in activities that could start a wildfire.

For additional information regarding current wildfires, expected fire weather and fire restrictions visit www.rmacc.info



ROCKY MOUNTAIN AREA COORDINATION CENTER

Bureau of Indian Affairs (Southwest, Rocky Mountain and Great Plains Regions)
Bureau of Land Management (Colorado and Wyoming)
Fish and Wildlife Service (Mountain/Prairie Region)
Forest Service (Rocky Mountain Region)
National Park Service (Intermountain and Midwest Regions)
State Agencies in Colorado, Wyoming, South Dakota, Nebraska and Kansas

Fire information for the Rocky Mountain Area is available online (www.rmacc.info), by phone (303-445-4322), and through email (rmaccinformation@gmail.com).

###