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Fireworks in Utah - 2011

There have been some significant changes in the Utah fireworks laws that go into effect
this firework season. We are asking for your help to keep your community safe this year
by sharing these talking points. You may contact the Office of the State Fire Marshal at 801-284-6350.

You may now purchase and use lawful fireworks from June 26 — July 26. (The
dates for sale and use of fireworks for New Year and Chinese’s New Year
celebrations remains the same.)

A new type of aerial firework is now lawful. Aerial devices, also known as
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“multiple tube,” “repeater,” or “cake” fireworks often look like miniature

professional displays and can travel high into the air, as much as 150 feet.

Still not allowed: firecrackers, M-80, cherry bombs, bottle rockets, Roman
candles, single or reloadable mortars, and ground salutes.

You must be at least 16 years of age to handle or light fireworks.

Fireworks need space from trees, carports, structures, or other obstacles. Aerial
or “cake” fireworks need at least a 30 foot bubble of clearance around on the
ground and above in the air. Some need as much as 150 feet clearance in the air.

Should a firework misfire or not light, do not attempt to re-ignite.

Children in Utah are burned each year by sparklers. The tip of a sparkler burns at
a temperature of more than 1,200 degrees Fahrenheit, hot enough to cause third-
degree burns.

Children under the age of 12 should not use sparklers without very close adult
supervision. Never hold or light more than one sparkler at a time.

Teach children to hold a sparkler at arm’s length from their body and not to wave
sparklers or run while holding sparklers. Stand at least 6 feet from another person
while using sparklers.

After a firework display, children should never pick up fireworks that may be left
over, they may still be active.
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The following is the new Rule 710-2-6 about the display, sale and signage of aerial
devices. Aerial devices are also known as cakes or multiple tube fireworks. This
does not refer to bottle rockets or similar unlawful fireworks that shoot into the
air.

This rule provides guidance to protect the consumer from unintentional ignition
of an aerial device during point of sale. These are a very different type of firework
that calls for additional safety precautions. This rule provides education to the
consumer about the safe use of aerial fireworks.

R710-2-6. Display, Sale, and Signage of Aerial Devices.

6.1 In addition to those requirements in R710-2-3, R710-2-4 and R710-2-5, all aerial devices
shall be packaged and displayed for sale in a manner that would provide public safety by completing the
following:

6.1.1 Aerial devices shall be placed in an area that is physically separated from the public so that
the customer cannot handle the aerial devices without the assistance of an employee. There shall be
signage placed at the aerial device display directing customers that aerial devices cannot be attained
without the assistance of a store employee.

6.1.2 Where aerial devices are sold in permanent structures or other approved locations, the
aerial device display shall be placed in a location that gives the customer access to the aerial devices just
before the customer checks out and exits the store.
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6.1.3 Wherever aerial devices are sold, there shall be signage with a minimum font of one inch,
to warn and inform the customer of the dangers of aerial devices and the signage shall state the following:
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6.1.3.1. Aerial fireworks are designed to travel up to 150 feet into the air and then explode.

6.1.3.2 Aerial fireworks shall be placed on a hard level surface outdoors, in a clear and open area
prior to ignition.
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6.1.3.3 Anyone under the age of 16 shall not handle or operate aerial fireworks.
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6.1.3.4 Ignition of aerial fireworks shall be a minimum of 30 feet from any structure or vertical
obstruction.

6.1.3.5 Aerial fireworks shall not be ignited within 150 feet of the point of sale.

=X
<OW‘O»

6.1.3.6 Please read and obey all safe handling instructions before using aerial fireworks.
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