Home | About Us | Site Disclaimer | SWCC   

•  Al Bell "Excellence in Dispatching"

The Al Bell "Excellence in Dispatching" Award was created in 1989 to acknowledge the contributions Al Bell, a Southwest Area Coordinator, made to the Dispatch and Coordination system during his years of service. Al set an example as a Dispatcher and Coordinator in the Southwest Area that is recognized today as the standard of excellence in professional dispatching and coordination.  In addition, his personal bearing and professional conduct established a high benchmark for interpersonal and general office relationships.  Al retired from the U. S. Forest Service the same year. A recipient of this award should be someone who most closely exhibits the same attributes Al exhibited.  Nominees may be from any agency and any level of the Dispatch or Coordination system in the Southwest Area. The award is presented annually at the Southwest Area Dispatchers Workshop.

2012 Award WinnerBarry Wallace, Prescott Dispatch Center (right)

Al Bell Award

•  Rookie of the Year

The "Rookie of the Year" Award is given annually to the newest member of the SWA dispatch community, whom demonstrates a willingness to learn, show's tremendous flexibility, and has a good working relationship within the dispatch community.

2012 Award WinnerJennifer Plumb, Show Low Dispatch Center (right)

Rookie of the Year Award Winner

•  Administratively Determined (AD)

The "Administratively Determined (AD)" Award is given annually to those non-Federal and non-State employees who willingly come onboard to help out in the dispatch community, and go beyond the normal routine to help out.  These individuals are made up of retirees and private individuals not associated with the government agencies.

2012 Award WinnerSteve Marsh, Albuquerque Dispatch Center (right)

AD Award Winner


Previous Award Recipients